This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Broncos announced their slimmed-down roster Saturday to reach the league-mandated 53-man regular-season roster limit.

There were 20 players released or waived by the team. Additional moves included safety T.J. Ward and defensive end Derek Wolfe being designated as reserve/suspended and do not count as part of the team’s active roster.

Ward is eligible to return to the active roster after Week 1 and Wolfe is eligible to return after Week 4 after serving suspensions.

The Broncos can establish a practice squad of up to 10 players beginning Sunday.

“Obviously, this is always a tough time of year. Getting down to the 53 is always tough. We had to let go of a lot of good football players,” General Manager John Elway said. We’re fortunate that we had great competition and we have had to let go of a lot of good football players. We feel like a lot of them will get some opportunities someplace else, too.”

Two veterans, Tony Carter and Sione Fua, were released. Running back Montee Ball remained on the roster as did quarterback Trevor Siemian.

“We still think that Montee, hopefully, can continue to improve. He was in the top 53 in our minds, so that’s why Montee’s here and we still have high expectations for Montee,” Elway said.

“I think I’ve said this every time we’ve been asked about him. We saw the arm. There was no doubt about the arm.” coach Gary Kubiak said Siemian making the cut. “It’s really about his progress, but the physical skills, we knew they were there.”

Players who were released were cornerback Tony Carter and nose tackle Sione Fua. Those who were waived were inside linebacker Zaire Anderson, inside lineback Lamin Barrow, running back Kapri Bibbs, receiver Isaiah Burse, center Dillon Day, safety Josh Furman, guard Ben Gardland, tight end Marcel Jensen, lineback Steven Johnson, tight end Dominique Jones, receiver Corbin Louks, defensive end Chuka Ndulue, cornerback Taurean Nixon, outside lineback Gerald Rivers, tackle Kyle Roberts, tackle Charles Sweeton, receiver Jordan Taylor and defensive end Josh Watson.