Nolan Arenado wins 7th straight Gold Glove

Colorado Rockies

DENVER, COLORADO – MAY 24: Nolan Arenado #28 of the Colorado Rockies celebrates as he crosses home plate after hitting a solo home run in the first inning against the Baltimore Orioles at Coors Field on May 24, 2019 in Denver, Colorado. (Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ST. LOUIS — Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado won his seventh straight Gold Glove and pitcher Zack Greinke earned his sixth in a row, getting the National League honor for the four months he spent with Arizona before he was traded to Houston.

Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon, who became a free agent this weekend, won his seventh overall and third in a row.

Other multiple winners in the AL announced Sunday included Boston right fielder Mookie Betts (four), Tampa Bay center fielder Kevin Kiermaier (three), Oakland first baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman, and Cleveland shortstop Francisco Lindor (two apiece).

Seattle pitcher Mike Leake, Cleveland catcher Roberto Pérez and Chicago White Sox second baseman Yolmer Sánchez were first time winners in the AL.

Chicago Cubs first baseman won his third Gold Glove and second in a row, and Arizona shortstop Nick Ahmed won his second straight,

There were five first-time winners in the NL: Philadelphia catcher J.T. Realmuto, St. Louis second baseman Kolten Wong, Arizona left fielder David Peralta, Milwaukee center fielder Lorenzo Cain and Los Angeles right fielder Cody Bellinger.

Managers and up to six coaches per team vote for the awards in their league and cannot choose their own players. For the first time, the defensive index from the Society for American Baseball Research was used, and it comprised about 25% of the vote, with the managers and coaches ballots the rest.

Most Read

Top Stories

More Home Page Top Stories