Champ Bailey, Dante Bichette and Jeremy Bloom among Colorado Sports Hall of Fame inductees

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER — Six prominent athletes have been selected for induction into the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame, it was announced Tuesday.

Champ Bailey of the Broncos, Dante Bichette of the Rockies and multisport athlete Jeremy Bloom (University of Colorado) were selected along with Hashim Kahn, Maurice “Stringy” Ervin and John Wooten.

“Hashim Khan, the world’s most famous and probably the world’s greatest squash player in history, came from Peshawar, Pakistan, and burst into prominence in his mid-thirties by winning the 1951 British Open,” the selection committee said in a statement.

“Maurice ‘Stringy’ Ervin was born and raised in Littleton where he attended high school and was a three-sport athlete (football, basketball and baseball),” the committee said. “As a senior, he quarterbacked Littleton to the state football title, the first in any sport in the school’s history.  During the same academic year, he led LHS to a state championship in basketball.”

“John B. Wooten was just the fifth player in Colorado history to earn All-America honors, the first lineman to do so when he was honored in 1958.  A three-year letterman at guard (1956-1957-1958), the American Football Coaches Association named him an All-American his senior year, after he had earned first-team all-Big Seven accolades as a junior the previous year,” organizers said.

“He was described as a quick, agile tackle that provided bone-crushing lead blocks in helping to make Colorado one of the top offensive teams of his day (and also played tackle on defense).  One of the first two African-American varsity football players at CU (with Frank Clarke), in 1989, he was selected as a first-team member of CU’s All-Century Team.”

Wooten played nine seasons with the Browns and one with Washington, attaining All-Pro status in his Cleveland days.

The six athletes will be formally inducted at the 53rd annual banquet on April 27 in Denver.

Most Read

Top Stories

More Home Page Top Stories