Very few fireworks allowed in Jefferson County

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

JEFFERSON COUNTY, Colo. — With the Fourth of July holiday coming soon, the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office is clarifying state law of possession of fireworks in the unincorporated areas of the county.

The best rule to follow is that any device that explodes or leaves the ground is most likely illegal anywhere in Colorado.

Illegal fireworks include, but are not limited to, firecrackers, cherry bombs, bottle rockets, M-80s and Roman candles.

It is illegal to sell, use or possess nonpermissible fireworks in unincorporated Jefferson County.

Additionally, all fireworks are prohibited in Jefferson County Open Space Parks, Denver Mountain Parks and Forest Service lands.

Examples of allowable fireworks are cylindrical or cone fountains, sparklers, toy smoke devices, snakes and glow worms.

While permissible fireworks might seem harmless, they continue to account for many injuries each year.

To report illegal fireworks, residents can call the Jefferson County fireworks hotline at 303-271-8200.

Anyone who violates the laws pertaining to the sale, possession and use of fireworks commits a Class 3 misdemeanor and can face a fine of up to $750.

Most Read

Top Stories

More Home Page Top Stories