Minnesota driver gets ticket for texting; message was about new hands-free driving law

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

EAGAN, Minn. — A driver in Minnesota was pulled over while texting about a new law banning texting. Eagan police tweeted about it Thursday morning, saying: “No joke, this driver was texting about the hands free law” while an officer was in the next lane. Police said she also held her phone to make a call and got a citation as a result.

Minnesota’s hand-free driving law went into effect Thursday so that driver was among the first to get caught. Violators are charged $50 for their first offense and up to $275 for a second ticket.

Trademark and Copyright 2020 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.

Most Read

Top Stories

More Home Page Top Stories