This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER — The Colorado House passed the controversial “red flag” bill that would allow guns to be seized from people who are determined by a court to pose a significant risk to themselves or others.

The bill now heads to Gov. Jared Polis’ desk for his signature to make it a law.

The Colorado House of Representatives approved the bill after it was amended in the Senate last week.

Gov. Polis has signaled support for the bill.

“This was a monumental day I think Colorado really took a step forward in protecting the public trying to prevent future gun violence,” Rep. Alec Garnett (D-Denver) a sponsor of the bill said.

Governor Polis is expected to sign the bill sometime in the next 30 day. The legislation does not take effect until 2020.

“The Courts need to develop their procedures,” Garnett said.

Meanwhile opposition of the bill continues with dozens of counties passing resolutions in opposition.

On Monday, Weld County Sheriff Steve Reams went on CNN to discuss his opposition.

“It’s unlike any other red flag bill that has been introduced anywhere in the United States,” Reams said.

“The issue is the person who is having their guns taken away isn’t aware of this hearing taking place. They find out about the hearing after the fact,” Reams said.

Republicans defeated similar legislation in 2018 before they lost control of the Senate in November elections.

The legislation would allow family or law enforcement to seek a court order to have guns seized if they believe the owner is a threat.

If approved, a court hearing would be held within 14 days to determine whether to extend the seizure, up to 364 days.

The bill also would require anyone whose guns are seized to prove that he or she no longer poses a risk in order to get them back.

Many in Colorado’s law enforcement community have come out against the bill, including the Denver and Aurora police unions, and several sheriffs.

One of the key supporters is Douglas County Sheriff Tony Spurlock. The bill is named after one of his deputies, Zackari Parrish, who was shot and killed in the line of duty in 2017.