DENVER -- 2016 is here at last and on New Year's Day, some new laws are going into effect for Colorado.
It means a bit more money for the some of the state's lowest paid workers.
The minimum wage automatically jumps on the New Year, going from $8.23 an hour to $8.31. The minimum for tipped workers is now up from $5.21 to $5.29.
The wage hike isn’t the $15 some workers have been asking for, but it’s a small raise. The state Constitution mandates that the minimum wage be automatically adjusted for inflation each year.
There are also new laws requiring any child missing from foster care or placement to be reported to police within 24 hours for their safety.
In two Colorado cities, smoking bans are going into effect.
In Fort Collins, the existing smoking ban will expand and you won't be allowed to smoke in any public area downtown. In Littleton, smoking won't be allowed on public streets and sidewalks.
Another new measure will shift money for child welfare investigations and oversight, adding more money for the child court system and court appointed lawyers.
State lawmakers will be back to work on Wednesday, Jan. 13.