This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER (KDVR) — Earlier this week, the CDC issued new guidance that urges masks indoors in places with substantial COVID-19 transmission.

Based on the CDC’s guidance, two-thirds of Colorado’s counties should be under indoor mask mandates, including some counties in the Denver metro area.

The City and County of Broomfield and Jefferson County fall in the CDC’s “substantial” zone of transmission that applies to areas with seven-day COVID-19 incidence rates of greater than 50 per 100,000 people.

Friday afternoon, the Tri-County Health Department announced lining up with the CDC’s recommendations. TCHD covers Adams, Arapahoe and Douglas counties.

“Specifically, TCHD recommends that all persons wear masks in school settings regardless of vaccination status and, as long as we have rising rates of community transmission, that everyone including fully vaccinated persons wear a mask in public indoor settings,” TCHD said in a statement.

List of counties (updated: July 30, 2:07 p.m.):

  • Broomfield County: the recommendation is for everyone, vaccinated or not, to wear a mask indoors
  • Jefferson County: the recommendations apply to everyone over the age of two, to wear a mask indoors
  • Tri-County Health Department: recommendation for masks in schools and public indoor settings regardless of vaccination status
  • Larimer County: Health officials are strongly recommending that all community members, both vaccinated and unvaccinated, wear masks in public indoor settings
  • Denver Public Health has issued an order requiring masks for everyone ages 2 and over inside schools or childcare facilities. This order includes all public and private educational settings up through grade 12.

If any other counties are added to this list, we will update it.