Jury trials suspended in many counties around Denver as COVID-19 cases surge

Local News

Getty Images

ARAPAHOE COUNTY, Colo. (KDVR) — All jury trials have been suspended due to the recent surge in COVID-19 cases in several metro judicial districts including those that cover Arapahoe, Boulder, Douglas, Elbert, Gilpin, Jefferson and Lincoln counties.

The recent surge of the omicron variant, the dominant COVID-19 variant in the state, has led to many delays and cancellations, especially affecting Colorado’s courts.

Chief Judge Michelle Amico, of the 18th Judicial District, signed a suspension last Thursday, delaying all jury trials across the district until Jan. 28. The 18th Judicial District includes Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln counties.

Chief Judge Amico and the 18th Judicial District will continue to monitor COVID-19 data for these four counties, in order to restore trials delayed by the virus.

Additionally, the 20th Judicial District in Boulder County has suspended jury trials until Jan. 28 and the First Judicial District in Jefferson and Gilpin counties has suspended jury trials until Feb. 15.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Read

Top Stories