This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

AURORA, Colo. (KDVR) — The search for the next chief of the Aurora Police Department reached a new phase Tuesday night. The final four candidates were part of a virtual town hall.

There has been high interest in the search for the next top officer for Aurora. The nationwide search started in January after the former Chief Nick Metz retired. He left the department after two high-profile and highly controversial events: the handling of the Aurora officer found drunk behind the wheel while on duty, and the death of Elijah McClain.

Meanwhile, the death of George Floyd in Minneapolis has sparked a nationwide push for police reform.

According to the event’s moderator, the community submitted 800 questions for the candidates. The candidate list started with 31, then six and now four.

The finalists are:

  • Marcus Dudley Jr., commander, Aurora Police Department
  • Alexander D. Jones, colonel and bureau chief, Baltimore County Police Department
  • Avery L. Moore, assistant police chief, Dallas Police Department
  • Vanessa Wilson, interim chief of police, Aurora Police Department

All of the candidates have at least two decades of law enforcement experience.

The city manger is expected to make a final recommendation to the City Council in July. In the meantime, the candidates will continue to meet with city and community groups this week.

Community members can submit feedback based on what they saw at the virtual town hall.

On Wednesday, the city will stream events happening with community groups on the city’s website. Visit the city’s website for more information on the candidates and the search process.