Fall back: Daylight saving time ends Sunday morning

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER — It’s time to change clocks back if you didn’t already do it.

Daylight saving time ends at 2 a.m. Sunday, November 6, which means most Americans — except those in parts of Arizona, Hawaii and a few territories — will be “falling back,” turning their clocks one hour into the past.

It’s a practice that’s meant to reduce electricity usage by extending morning daylight hours.

Some fast facts about the twice-yearly time change.

  • Sunday, March 13, 2016: Daylight saving time began at 2 am. Set clocks ahead one hour.
  • Sunday, Nov. 6, 2016: Daylight saving time ends at 2 am. Set clocks back one hour.
  • It is “daylight saving time” (singular), not “daylight savings time” (plural).
  • Beginning in 2007, daylight saving time in the United States moved to the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.

RELATED: Do the benefits of Daylight Saving Time outweigh its hazards?


  • 1784: The idea of daylight saving is first conceived by Benjamin Franklin.
  • 1914-1918: Britain goes on daylight saving time during World War I.
  • March 19, 1918: The Standard Time Act establishes time zones and daylight saving. Daylight saving is repealed in 1919, but continues to be recognized in certain areas of the United States.
  • 1945-1966: There is no federal law regarding daylight saving time.
  • 1966: The Uniform Time Act of 1966 establishes the system of uniform daylight saving time throughout the United States. The dates are the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. States can exempt themselves from participation.
  • 1974-1975: Congress extends daylight saving time to save energy during the energy crisis.
  • 1986-2006: Daylight saving time begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the last Sunday in October.
  • Aug. 8, 2005: President George W. Bush signs the Energy Policy Act of 2005 into law. Part of the act will extend daylight saving time starting in 2007, from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.
  • 2007: Under the new laws, all of Indiana now observes daylight saving time, where only certain areas of the state did before.

Facts and figures

  • Exceptions in the United States are Hawaii and most of Arizona.
  • The US territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and American Samoa also do not observe daylight saving time.
  • About 70 countries around the world observe daylight saving time.
  • Many countries near the equator do not adjust their clocks for daylight saving.
  • Neither China nor Japan observe daylight saving time.
  • Some countries refer to daylight saving time as “summer time.”

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Read

Top Stories