This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER — Colorado has adopted regulations for the recreational marijuana industry.

Colorado voters approved Amendment 64 in November 2012, allowing the use of recreational marijuana.

The rules were released late Monday, You can read them here.

Colorado and the state of Washington are blazing the trail for legal recreational marijuana use.

Colorado’s rules require those seeking to enter the marijuana retail business to pay up to $5,000 just to apply to be in the recreational pot business. Operational licenses cost another $2,750 to $14,000.

Applicants can start the process within the next few weeks. Some stores are expected to open for business January 1, 2014.

Successful applicants must also pass a gauntlet of criminal background checks and residency requirements.

All of the revenue will go toward making sure the state can regulate the industry. Much of the resources will go to cover the cost of implementing a “seed to sale” tracking system that will include video surveillance of all plants as they grow and RFID, or radio frequency identification tags on all packaging to make sure the marijuana grown in Colorado stays in the state.

The rules also require a security system with video recording of every marijuana sale that clearly shows the employee and the buyer.

Under another rule, retailers are prohibited from advertising on any website that doesn’t require the user to verify that he or she is at least 21 years old. Marijuana businesses are not allowed to advertise to consumers outside Colorado.

The document containing the recreational marijuana rules is more than 130 pages long.

LINK: U.S. Justice Department won’t block Colorado marijuana law