All but 2 Colorado counties deemed disaster areas

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — With wildfires blazing throughout the state and record temperatures soaring into the 100s at a consistent pace, 62 of Colorado’s 64 counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas.

The only two counties that have not been issued those designations, Delta and San Juan, are being considered contiguous disaster areas. That means all 64 of Colorado’s counties are eligible for drought assistance.

The designations — put forth by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) — are due to losses caused by drought, excessive heat and high winds, according to Colorado U.S. Senators Michael Bennet and Mark Udall, who announced the news Tuesday.

“The entire state has been severely affected by hot and dry conditions that have hampered the production of our agricultural producers,” Bennet wrote in a release. “The designations from USDA will provide much-needed assistance to farmers to help offset their losses due to drought.”

Tuesday’s announcement means agricultural producers across the state are eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) loans. Producers have eight months to apply for those loans and are being urged to check with their local FSA offices for more information.

Farmers have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for assistance. They can find more information at local Farm Service Agency offices.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Read

Top Stories