VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. — Police in Virginia posted a photo of a $100 ticket they gave a person for smoking inside a car with a minor inside.
The photo has since gone viral.
Virginia Beach Police issued the ticket around 8:30 a.m. on Monday, according to a tweet from police.
Virginia passed a law in 2016 that made it illegal for adults to smoke in vehicles when a child under 8 years old is inside.
The penalty is a $100 fine.
The Aurora City Council passed a similar law in February that was proposed by five 13-year-old girls from Girl Scout Troop No. 60789.
Under the Aurora law, it is illegal to smoke tobacco or marijuana and vaping in a vehicle with anyone younger than 18 years old.
The punishment in Aurora is a $150 fine or mandatory community service.AlertMe