Fire restrictions in place for Denver Mountain Parks in 3 counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER — Denver Parks and Recreation has issued fire restrictions for Denver Mountain Parks in Jefferson, Clear Creek and Douglas counties.

The temporary fire ban means open burning and ground fires are not allowed. A fire can be built within a permanent grate in picnic and campground areas. Fireworks are banned.

Smoking is only allowed inside an enclosed vehicle or building, or in an area that is clear of material that can easily catch fire.

Grilling on a propane grill is still allowed.

The temporary ban includes the following areas:

  • Jefferson County: Bergen Peak, Fillius, Genesse, Katherine Craig, Lookout Mountain, O’Fallon, Pence, Bell, Cub Creek, Dedisse, Elephant Butte, Berrian Mountain, Newton, Red Rocks and Little Park
  • Clear Creek County: Echo Lake, Summit Lake, Hicks Mountain, Pence Mountain and Forsberg Park
  • Douglas County: Daniels Park