DU men’s hockey team wins eighth national title

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CHICAGO -- The University of Denver men's hockey team won its eighth national championship Saturday, beating conference rival Minnesota, 3-2, at the United Center.

Sophomore Jarik Lukosevicius scored three times in the third period for the Pioneers, the first hat trick in a national championship game in more than 20 years.

The Bulldogs battled back, but goalie Tanner Jaillet made 38 saves to secure the Pioneers' first national title since 2005.

DU is now tied with North Dakota for the second-most men's hockey national championships, one behind Michigan.