3 former Broncos players among Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — Three former Broncos players were named as finalists Tuesday for the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The team’s all-time leading rusher, Terrell Davis, was among the group of 15 finalists. He played for the Broncos from 1995 to 2001, rushing for for 7,607 yards and 60 touchdowns. He was part of two Broncos teams that won Super Bowls.

Davis rushed for 2,008 yards and 21 touchdowns in the 1998 season. He was the MVP of Super Bowl XXXII.

Safety John Lynch joined the Broncos from 2004 to 2007 after playing for Tampa Bay from 1993 to 2003.

He was a third-round draft choice who was instrumental in the Buccaneers winning the Super Bowl in 2003. He made nine Pro Bowl appearances, including each year he was with the Broncos, and was equally good against the run and the pass. He had 26 interceptions during his career.

He helped the Broncos reach the AFC Championship Game during the 2005 season.

Davis and Lynch are finalists for the fourth consecutive year.

Safety Brian Dawkins was with the Broncos from 2009 to 2011 after playing in Philadelphia from 1996 to 2008.

He had a reputation for being a fierce defender. Dawkins had 28 forced fumbles and 37 interceptions in his 224 NFL games.

Former Broncos players Steve Atwater and Karl Mecklenburg were not selected for the final round.

Up to five of the 15 will be chosen for induction into the Hall of Fame on Feb. 4.

Despite having three Super Bowl titles and eight title-game appearances, there are only four players in the Hall of Fame who played the bulk of their careers in Denver: Quarterback John Elway, offensive tackle Gary Zimmerman, running back Floyd Little and tight end Shannon Sharpe.