Louisville sophomore Lamar Jackson wins Heisman

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Quarterback Lamar Jackson of the Louisville Cardinals poses with the trophy after being named the 82nd Heisman Memorial Trophy Award winner. (Photo by Todd Van Emst - Pool/Getty Images)

NEW YORK — Lamar Jackson, a sophomore quarterback at the University of Louisville, was awarded the 2016 Heisman Trophy at a ceremony Saturday at the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square.

Jackson is the youngest winner in Heisman Trophy history.

Jackson won easily with 2,144 points in the balloting of 929 voters.

Clemson’s Deshaun Watson was second with 1,524 points, followed by Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield with 362 points, Oklahoma’s Dede Westbrook with 209 and Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers with 208.

Jackson, who received the 80th edition of the honor at the College Football Hall of Fame, guided the nation’s top scoring offense at Louisville.

He finished the regular season holding a number of ACC and school records.

He tied an ACC mark with eight touchdowns in the season-opening win over Charlotte, including matching a school mark with six touchdown passes.

He amassed an ACC-record 610 total yards in a win over Syracuse, a game in which he came within one rushing yard of becoming the first player in FBS history to run for 400 yards and pass for 200 yards in the same game.

The Cardinals return to action on Dec. 31 in the 2016 Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl against LSU in Orlando, Fla., at 11 a.m.