NFL Honors: Wade Phillips wins Assistant Coach of Year; No Broncos in 2016 Hall of Fame class

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HOUSTON, TX - AUGUST 22: Defensive coordinator Wade Phillips of the Denver Broncos waits on the field before their game against the Houston Texans at NRG Stadium on August 22, 2015 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)

SAN FRANCISCO — No former Broncos made it into the NFL Pro Football Hall of Fame this year, according to results announced Saturday night during the NFL Honors event in San Francisco.

Safeties Steve Atwater and John Lynch along with running back Terrell Davis were among the 15 modern era finalists for the Hall of Fame’s class of 2016. All three were not included in the official class of 2016, which was limited to five players.

Broncos assistant coach Wade Phillips won the 2015 Assistant Coach of the Year Award.

The five-man modern-era Hall of Fame class of 2016 consists of coach Tony Dungy, quarterback Brett Favre, defensive end Kevin Greene, receiver Marvin Harrison and left tackle Orlando Pace.

Davis and Lynch both finished in the top 10 of the modern-era voting this year, which is notable as four of the five modern-era Hall of Famers this year — Pace, Greene, Harrison and Dungy  — finished six through 10 in last year’s vote.


Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.