Snapchat now warns you if another app saves your photo

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Snapchat: With this app, users send photos and videos -- some of them racy -- that disappear within seconds.

NEW YORK — Snapchat is taking a small step toward actually taking your privacy seriously.

Starting this week, the photo-sharing app will warn you if another app on your phone is saving your pictures. That matters, because the whole point of Snapchat is that photos have a self-destruct timer.

This feature makes Snapchat a favorite for sexting — sending nude images.

But there’s a false sense of privacy, because numerous third-party apps like SaveSnap, SnapBox and SnapSpy offer users the ability to save incoming photos.

STORY: Here’s how to find out if your kids are sexting on Snapchat

This is why Snapchat isn’t really private. The whole system has a massive hole. It’s partly the fault of users for downloading the stuff, and Snapchat for not blocking them entirely.

In the past, Snapchat has asked users not to use third-party apps that tap into the company’s computer code — but it hasn’t shut them down the way Twitter has.

On Tuesday, the company issued this statement: “Starting today, we will notify Snapchatters when we have detected that they may be using third-party apps and we’ll ask those Snapchatters to change their password and stop using unauthorized apps.”

But that doesn’t actually do the job. It merely warns you about apps on your phone. It doesn’t stop your Snapchat buddy from using third-party apps on his or her device.

The flaw is still around.

AlertMe