Attorney general tells county clerks to begin issuing same-sex marriage licenses

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER -- Same-sex marriage became official across Colorado on Tuesday morning after the Colorado Supreme Court lifted two stays and Attorney General John Suthers told the 64 county clerks to begin issuing licenses.

"There are no remaining legal requirements that prevent same-sex couples from legally marrying in Colorado," Suthers said in a news release. "Beginning today, Colorado's 64 county clerks are legally required to issue licenses to same-sex couples who request them.

RELATED: Attorney General Ruling

"In addition, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment is required to register such marriages in the records of the State of Colorado."

RELATED: Stay Against Adams County Lifted

RELATED: Stay Against Boulder County Lifted

Even before the stays against Adams and Boulder counties were lifted and Suthers' order came down, county clerk and recorder offices began announcing they immediately would begin offering the licenses.

Pueblo and Larimer counties started Monday, and Douglas County began issuing licenses at 8 a.m. Tuesday. Jefferson and Denver counties soon followed before Suthers' announcement was made.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.