Relief for Colorado farmers suffering drought conditions

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DENVER – U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has good news for Colorado farmers. Vilsack notified Gov. Hickenlooper that 12 counties in Colorado qualify for federal disaster relief due to recent drought conditions.

The ongoing drought conditions qualify six of the counties as primary natural disaster areas.  These include: Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Montezuma, Ouray and San Miguel. Six more were declared as contiguous counties. These include: Archuleta, Gunnison, Mineral, Montrose, Saguache and San Juan.

Farm Service Agency (FSA) loans are included in the federal disaster relief. There is an eight month eligibility period for farmers in the impacted counties to apply for emergency loan assistance.

Each emergency loan application will be reviewed by the FSA on a case by case basis. Factors which will be considered include the magnitude of production losses, security available and the farmers ability to pay back loans.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.