CU football coach Mike MacIntyre named Pac-12 coach of the year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

BOULDER, Colo. — Capping a stunning four-year turnaround, University of Colorado football coach Mike MacIntyre was named Pac-12 Conference coach of the year on Tuesday.

MacIntyre took over the Buffaloes in 2013 after they went 1-11, and CU failed to win more than four games in each of his first three seasons.

But this season, the Buffaloes rebounded in a big way, going 10-2, including 8-1 in the conference, to win the Pac-12 South Division title. It was the greatest overall improvement in conference history.

It’s the first time a CU coach has been named conference coach of the year since Gary Barnett in 2004 in the Big 12 Conference.

The Buffaloes will play Washington at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif., on Friday night in the Pac-12 championship game. It will air on FOX31.

CU, which is ranked No. 9 nationally, became just the ninth Power 5 school since 1972 to win 10 or more games after finishing the previous season with four victories or fewer. The 10-win season is the first for CU since 2001.

The conference also honored 16 players who earned All-Pac-12 honors.

Outside linebacker Jimmie Gilbert and special teams’ performer Ryan Moeller were first-team selections.

Three secondary players — Chidobe Awuzie, Tedric Thompson and Ahkello Witherspoon — earned second-team selections, along with running back Phillip Lindsay and left tackle Jeromy Iwrin.

Nine Buffaloes earned honorable mention honors: Receivers Bryce Bobo, Shay Fields and Devin Ross; defensive end Jordan Carrell; offensive linemen Alex Kelley and Gerrad Kough; quarterback Sefo Liufau; linebacker Kenneth Olugbode; and nose tackle Josh Tupou.