Facebook launched a test of some "break-up" tools Thursday. These tools are designed to help people manage how they interact with their former partner when a relationship ends.
Facebook users will be prompted to try the break-up tools when they change their relationship status to show they're no longer in a relationship.
The tools give people the option to quickly and easily:
- See less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Their posts won’t show up in News Feed and their name won’t be suggested when people write a new message or tag friends in photos.
- Limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see.
- Edit who can see their past posts with a former partner and untag themselves from posts with that person.
The changes appear to be ‘liked’ by users in the Denver area.
“I think it’ll help people calm down and get over it a little easier,” explained Emily Cushman. She thinks it will help people stay away from making drastic decisions.
“Like you’re not going to go out and like cut all your hair off because you accidentally saw them on your Facebook feed,” she added.
Amanda Gilbert agreed and wished the options were available last June when she broke up with her then boyfriend.
“When you break up with someone it’s not like they go away. It’s not like you’ll run into him at the supermarket, he’ll be all over your social media,” Gilbert said.
“For me? I’m like I don’t ever want to talk to them ever again. So for me I’ll use it.”
The new options are only available to use on mobile devices. Facebook will make changes and possibly add more features based on people's feedback.