A new “privacy notice” has gone viral and claims your Facebook details and data can be hidden from the social media giant if you post a few magic words on your wall.
As it turns out, the magic words aren’t so magic after all.
According to Mashable.com, the notice is a hoax and started spreading a few days after Facebook posted its new privacy guidelines. These new guidelines allow users to comment on major proposed changes to the social media site, but users can no longer vote on those changes like they once could.
This is the text that this new “privacy notice” is urging Facebook users to post to their wall:
“In response to the new Facebook guidelines I hereby declare that my copyright is attached to all of my personal details, illustrations, graphics, comics, paintings, photos and videos, etc. (as a result of the Berner Convention). For commercial use of the above my written consent is needed at all times!”
The notice goes on to claim that this wall post will prevent Facebook from “disclosing, copying, distributing, disseminating or taking any other action against (the user) on the basis of this profile and/or its contents.”
According to its creator, the goal of this new notice is to limit Facebook’s ability as “an open capital entity.”
According to Mashable, privacy notice wall post or not, Facebook and its users are still bound to the same terms and conditions that are accepted by users when they sign up for Facebook.
Yes, that means Facebook and other users can utilize and/or distribute anything you post on the social media site.